Finally – recognition for Britain’s airfields and the sacrifice made by so many. 

The government recently announced their final budget before the forthcoming general election. Amongst the tax hype, vote buying and pre-election promises we have come so accustomed to, was a small recognition to those who gave their all for the security of Britain. 

Recognition has finally been given to the deterioration of Britain’s wartime airfields. In particular Stow Maries that dates back for the First World War, the museum at Hendon and the chapel at the former RAF base at Biggin Hill, have all been the subject of grants to improve and update them. 

This does not in itself signify a dramatic change in heart of the upkeep or a reduction in planning and development of Britain’s wartime airfields, but it does show a change in attitude toward those that flew from them and the memories we hold of them. 

Any small recognition of the sacrifice made by these people, and the fading historical aspect of these now decaying sites has to be good. Maybe just maybe, somewhere along the line planning regulations may change to allow for preservation of some small part of these sites before they are all gone forever. 

This has to be a positive step forward, let’s hope so!

An interesting article relating to this appeared in the “Telegraph” newspaper on May 21st. It’s well worth a read and can be found here 

10 thoughts on “Finally – recognition for Britain’s airfields and the sacrifice made by so many. 

  1. Definitely a step forward, I do agree. The Alouette 425 squadron used to fly from Tholthorpe, Yorkshire, but I can’t find it here on the site. Can anyone tell me if I simply missed it or if we can expect some infos about this airfield soon, if possible? Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, thanks for coming by. Tholthorpe is not on the site, most of these cover the central areas of England (so far) as that is where I live and work. Yorkshire is on the ‘to do’ list but it may some time before I get there I’m afraid. Do you have connections with Tholthorpe? Thank you so much for reading and commenting it is really appreciated, I hope to be able to help you soon! Andy

      Like

      • Thank you for your answer, Andy. I went two times to Tholthorpe, I might go back next summer, since my father used to fly from there during WWII in Alouette 425 squadron (I live in Québec).
        Yes, I know a few people there, one of them lives in the watch tower and the other one was 14 or 15 years old during the war. Let me know if I can help in any way.
        Thank you for what you do, Andy. I do understand it takes time…

        Liked by 1 person

      • I am so pleased you have managed to visit the site, it means so much to
        Many people to see these places, particularly when they live so far away. I have made a number of friends whose fathers or other family members served from UK bases during the war and seeing these photos / reading about them really helps put their lives into some perspective. If you do get back there, it is likely to be before me, please feel free to send me something, photos of your dad, perhaps even a write up of him, to post, it would be a real Pleasure to add him here.

        Like

Leave a Reply

